Tethered

My entry in the latest rendition of Flash! Friday. The story had to be inspired by the photo below and “friendship” needed to be incorporated in some fashion. 360 word max as usual. My story received a special mention for “last line/ending.”

port_hine_018_v334

When I was a child I used to stare out my window at the laborers working the land. More often than not, my eyes would find the girl whose face was neither sad nor happy. Her name was Myra and she picked berries alongside the other workers that my father referred to as dirt people.

We could never be friends because of her inferior blood but I thought of her frequently back then. I always wondered if she ever prayed for rain. I always wondered if she ever craved a glass of iced lemonade. Part of me yearned to speak to her, play games with her but baskets didn’t fill themselves. Her toys were the soil and a low wage.

“Miss Lawton, is there anything else you need?”

“I’m fine, dear. Just clear the dishes and you can get some sleep, Myra.”

“Yes, ma’am”

After all these decades I wonder if she stayed with me out of friendship or ownership.

Leave a Reply

